HSDM Alumni and Students Receive Recognition at the First-Ever Virtual Yankee Dental Congress

February 8, 2021
Headshot of Lonnie Norris, DMD76, MPH77

In late January, dental professionals and students gathered for the first-ever virtual Yankee Dental Congress. The three-day event brought together dental professionals from all over New England and beyond to connect with colleagues, participate in professional development, discover new innovations, and advance the profession of dentistry. The annual event also offers an opportunity for the dental community to recognize the achievements and contributions of those in the field.

Honoring a Lifelong Dedication to the Profession

At this year’s 2021 American College of Dentists New England Section (ACD) Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Yankee Dental Congress, Harvard School of Dental Medicine (HSDM) alumnus Lonnie Norris, DMD76, MPH77, received the Thomas F. Winkler Leadership Award for his leadership and dedication to the dental profession.

“I am very honored to receive this prestigious recognition by the New England Section of the American College of Dentists,” said Norris, who is Dean Emeritus and
Professor Emeritus of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery of Tufts School of Dental Medicine. “I always value my education at Harvard School of Dental Medicine and Harvard School of Public Health as an essential foundation of my knowledge and opportunities to advance my professional career.”

Dean William Giannobile, DMSc96, PD96, shared, “
On behalf of the HSDM community, I would like to congratulate Lonnie on this achievement. Lonnie’s longtime commitment to advancing the field of oral and maxillofacial surgery, as well as his unwavering leadership and dedication to dental education as one of the most highly regarded deans in the country, make him a perfect fit for the Thomas F. Winkler Leadership Award. Lonnie’s service to the dental community through organizations like the American Dental Education Association, the Commission on Dental Accreditation, the American Dental Association, and more, exemplify the spirit of this award and embody the mission of the American College of Dentists.”

Also recognized was HSDM alumnus Ronald Fried, MMSc86, PD86, who was named the 2021 Clinician of the Year at the Yankee Dental Award Ceremony. Fried, who received his Master of Medical Sciences and a certificate in periodontology from HSDM, has been a Yankee Dental lecturer for more than two decades.  Ron has also been a highly dedicated part-time faculty member in HSDM’s Advanced Graduate Education program in Periodontology for three decades.

Up-and-Coming Student Awardees

HSDM fourth-year student and class president, Nicholas DeMeo, DMD21, also received recognition at this year’s event. DeMeo was the HSDM recipient of the American College of Dentists Outstanding Senior Dental Student Award, which recognizes a student’s achievements in academics, leadership, and initiative. The American College of Dentists recognizes a student from each of the five New England-based dental schools.

An HSDM faculty member shared, “Nick has been more than a class president. He has been a sounding board and a link between the faculty and his class during a very tumultuous time. He has been a calming influence and unflappable during stressful times. Calm under pressure and respectful of all points of view, he is a leader who has earned the respect and trust of students, faculty, and administration.”

On Saturday, January 30, the HSDM American Student Dental Association (ASDA) chapter competed in the 12th Annual ASDA District 1 Student Debate. Joe Montesano, DMD24, and Sophia Yang, DMD24, competed against the UConn School of Dental Medicine ASDA chapter, capturing the win.

Richard Shen, DMD22
Richard Shen, DMD22,
was named a recipient of the Matthew Boylan Scholarship, which is presented by the Massachusetts Dental Society (MDS) and Eastern Dentists Insurance Company (EDIC). The award was presented at this year’s virtual Yankee Dental Congress 2021 ASDA District 1 Student Debate.