HSDM Celebrates 2016 Graduates

May 26, 2016
HSDM Celebrates 2016 Graduates

Harvard Commencement and Class Day was held on Thursday, May 26 with celebration and ceremony. The day began with the graduating students marching into Harvard’s Tercentenary Theatre for Morning Exercises. Music, tradition, and remarks by students and deans commemorated the 375th Commencement.

Degree candidates from 13 schools and Harvard College were recognized by school and cheered by the crowd. Harvard School of Dental Medicine (HSDM) awarded 61 degrees– 13 Master of Medical Sciences, 12 Doctor of Medical Sciences, 36 Doctor of Dental Medicine degrees.

Later in the day, HSDM students joined their Harvard Medical School classmates for Class Day on the Quad. Family and friends gathered to hear speeches by student speakers and the deans of both schools. Their remarks touched on partnerships and transition.

“You will be great dentists and exceptional oral physicians. You have learned to appreciate that patients are unique, and by your education here, you will be doctors who understand the complex and deep relationship between oral health and the health of the whole body. Your achievements should make you very proud,” said Dean Donoff.

After the remarks the graduates received their diplomas and hoods. They joined their families, and HSDM faculty and staff for an Alumni Reception honoring HSDM’s newest alumni.

View a Commencement photo gallery.

Commencement Awards were presented to the following students on Tuesday, May 24:

DMD Student Award Recipients

Harvard Dental Alumni Association Gold Medal
For exceptional all-around scholastic achievement
Yuehong Fan

Harvard Dental Alumni Association Silver Medal
For outstanding all-around scholastic achievement
Kristen Elizabeth Huber

Harvard Odontological Society
For excellence in research
Michael Seth Forman

The Community Service Predoctoral Student Award
For overall achievement in public health and contribution to the field
Xinli Liu 

Dr. Paul Boyle Award
For excellence in the field of Oral Pathology
Michael Seth Forman

The Lois K. Cohen Award
For excellence in global health
Cliff Lee

Dr. Roy O. Greep Award
For excellence in basic sciences
Laura Anne Jacox

Grace Milliken Award
For an outstanding thesis on the general subject of dental health
Pouya Mostafa Vakilian

Dr. Norman B. Nesbett Award
For excellence in clinical dentistry
Michael Seth Forman

Gerald Shklar Memorial Award
For excellence in academics and demonstrated talents in fields distinguished from the sciences, such as art, literature, and/or public service
Carly Frances Park

 Dr. Leo Talkov Award
For excellence in clinical dentistry
Kenneth Michael Kufta

Advanced Graduate Education Student Award Recipients

The Lois K. Cohen Award
For excellence in global health
Hend E. Alqaderi

Dr. James M. Dunning Award
For outstanding research in oral epidemiology/public health dentistry
Enihomo Mary Obadan-Udoh

Dr. Joseph L. Henry Award
For extraordinary accomplishments in research and clinical dentistry, and contributions to the School
Wichaya Wisitrasameewong

Dr. James H. Shaw Award
In recognition of research that greatly advances knowledge in a particular discipline
Marcelo Freire

The Community Service Postdoctoral Student Award
For overall achievement in public health and contribution to the field
Omair M.M. Bukhari




See also: Awards, Students